I <3 DIY Projects & So Should You

I can’t help but toot my horn so here I go…toot toot.

I’m very creative.  I probably get it from my Grandma O’Donnell (She had art work hanging up in a local art gallery when I was younger, ya know.) I suppose I can attribute all the wacky art and thinking outside the box ideas from her. This skill has been very handy in most of my apt decoration ideas.  There was always a DIY element to it that saved me money & added beauty to the room.

Now I know what you are thinking, “Morgan, I’m not creative. I could never make something beautiful from a piece at the goodwill or garbage wayside.”  I’m here to tell you can and it’s always very simple and easy to do.  You just have to know what to look for, and you will find that gem that will adorn your walls and shelves!

Say you are taking a trip to the Goodwill.  Don’t laugh at it…I mean it.  GO TO THE GOODWILL.  You’d be surprised what’s in the store. I found a DVF skirt at the Goodwill once.  I still have it.  It’s vintage!  Go in and take a look around.  I’m not saying you have to buy a clothing item here,  but they do have great home décor stuff that you can gussy up and make it your own ( Didn’t some American Idol judge always say that phrase?)

Here are some ideas…

If you see a really ugly frame but a great picture in the frame, buy it and throw out the frame.  Get another frame of your liking for the picture. Any craft store should have a framing department to help you find the perfect frame. If you like everything about the picture but feel the frame needs a touch of color, paint the frame to freshen up the image. Lastly, if you like the frame but hate the picture, just switch out the image! Everything is customizable and good for your budget! Here are some things I did in my place….

IMG_4168  IMG_4175

IMG_4172       IMG_4224

See! A little fixing up and they look brand new ( and nice on your wall.)

The next simple and fun thing you can create all by drinking a beer or two…or three…

All you need are empty beer bottles and craft paint of any color.  Make sure to boil off the labels before you start the project! When you complete the label removal process and let the bottle dry, paint the bottles over with any color of your liking!    AND WITH THAT…TA DAAAAA….You have new flower vases!!!  I personally think they give a funky edge to the standard vase.

IMG_4210 IMG_4226

The final project on this post has been my favorite so far!  I love my handmade wall art sculpture!!! All I used was popsicle sticks from the dollar tree ( they come in packs of about 100.)  I also used thin cut out wooden shapes, painters tape, craft paint, wood glue, colored string, and my imagination!

To start, I took all the wooden shapes and started to apply the painters tape on each one.  I made different patterns and shapes.  I just had fun with it. Let your imagination run wild.  Now one by one, I painted each shape different colors.  I made sure not to use too much of one color so it wouldn’t be over-saturated with one particular shade.  As I allowed them to dry, I got started with the shape of my wall art.

Using the popsicle sticks and one of the flat wooden shapes as a base,  I started forming the basic shape.  I would be building around and layering on top on the design.  I attached the pieces together with wood glue.  Once the skeleton of the structure was dry, I took off the tape of the flat painted wood shapes an began attaching them in a way I thought it flowed.

Don’t worry if you don’t see something they way another does…it’s your piece.  Do what you want with it. Tell them to be quiet and concentrate on their own work 🙂

All in all, the projects was easy, it just took time.  I think craft/art projects are very therapeutic, creative,  and also a very THIFTY way to make your house personalized.

IMG_4161 IMG_4162  photo

There are so many other fun ideas…I found a lot on this great Youtube channel!

CHECK IT OUT AND GET CRAFTY!…. http://www.youtube.com/user/hgtvhandmade?feature=watch

Leave a Reply

