The Journey That Began on October 4, 2013

One year ago today, my mother and I rolled into Alana & Jeremiah’s driveway.  My new life in Texas began.  The year has flown by and I’m so happy I took my leap of faith to the state where everything is bigger!

Before I began this momentous journey, I remember conversations with my parents.  They thought I was crazy.  Here were some of the questions or statements I heard from them…

 

  1. Mom : “ I can’t believe I have a daughter moving to Texas.”
  2. Dad: “Do don’t have a job yet! How are you going to support yourself?”
  3. Mom: “Are you going to take Dale? Please take him.”
  4. Dad: “You better not take Dale to Texas with you. Peanuts will be lonely. I will miss him too”
  5. Dad: “You are going to be so far away! How will I be able to give you all my wise and FREE advice??”
  6. Mom: “Of course I’ll drive down to Texas with you! It will be a fun mother/daughter road trip!” (BTW- That road trip was amazing!)

I miss my parents (and my Dad’s free advice a lot.)  It is hard to be away from my family.  Most of the family lives in Buffalo or the New York City area. I always miss my friends from home.  They were the people who really knew my weird ways.  Despite those facts, it was one of the best decisions I have made for myself.  Some people are happy where they grew up, some are not.  Some want more then what they were birthed into.  I wanted more and I got more.

So, what did I want that home couldn’t give me?

Jobs: 

Texas has a lot of jobs.  It probably has to do with the fact that they don’t tax she sh*t out of business like NYS. Texas is booming in job growth. When I moved here, I interviewed at so many places that I never would have dreamed interviewing at in NY. I went through a string of eh and ugh jobs for about 6 months here.  In February, I finally found the job I wanted to keep for the long haul and I couldn’t be happier.

The Weather:

I was freezing.  No more winters for me!  I narrowly escaped the coldest winter ever. People ask me, “aren’t you hot there?!” YES and I love it.  I never have to dig my car out of snow ever again. It’s so sunny here too. I’m obsessed with 300 days of sun.  I’m in heaven! #Hallelujah

The Chance to Start Over:

I lost a lot of confidence over the years.  I wasn’t happy.  I didn’t think was capable of anything great. I would do all I could to kick ass and I’d fail time and time again.  I needed a change.  I tried so hard for years to make it work and I did not feel that where I was would allow me to be successful.  It was time for something different.  I needed to go where I knew little to no people and nobody knew my past.  I needed to transform my confidence to prove I COULD be successful.  Being here has given me so much confidence that I can take on so much more than I ever thought possible.  I’m grateful for all the tears, anxious thoughts, and the perseverance to move through those dark days in the beginning of my stay here in Austin.  I had to be strong because I wanted to be successful and happy here.  I achieved that.  I know I can do so much more now.  I’m so grateful for the second chance.

The move from Buffalo to the South West was a huge one for me.  It is scary going into the unknown, not knowing what the hell will happen to you.  As scary as it was, it has been such a rewarding experience to try something so out of the box.  Don’t be afraid to go after what you want.  If this once cowardly lioness can overcome so much, I know you can too.

One thought on “The Journey That Began on October 4, 2013

  1. Way to go on being so brave to uproot your life and make such a drastic change! And I have free advice if you ever need it 😉

    “We’re all in the gutter, but some of us are looking at the stars.” -Oscar Wilde

Leave a Reply

